As promised, we are coming to you today with the remaining award winners from the Amercian College of Medical Genetics and Genomics (ACMG) annual meeting. 

The ACMG Foundation for Genetic and Genomic Medicine’s David L. Rimoin Lifetime Achievement Award 

Winners: Dr. Judith Hall, MD, FACMG, Professor Emerita of Pediatrics and Medical Genetics, University of British Colombia.


“The David L. Rimoin Lifetime Achievement Award is intended to recognise individuals who have demonstrated the personal characteristics of empathy, compassion, and mentorship, in addition to having made major scientific contributions to medical genetics,” said Dr. Bruce Korf, FACMG, president of the ACMG Foundation. “Dr. Judy Hall is an exemplar of these ideals and has been a longstanding leader in the medical genetics community. We are proud to recognise her accomplishments and contributions as the second recipient of the David L. Rimoin Lifetime Achievement Award.”

Dr. Hall’s work in medical genetics spans more than half a century. She has mentored 40 medical genetics fellows; written more than 300 research articles, 12 books, and 104 book chapters; served as a founding member of the American College of Medical Genetics and the Canadian College of Medical Genetics; served on editorial boards and as reviewer for numerous prominent research journals; and currently serves as a senior editor for the American Journal of Medical Genetics. 


The ACMG Foundation Carolyn Mills Lovell Genetic Counselor Award 

Winner: Erin Riggs, MS, CGC, Assistant Professor and certified genetic counselor at the Autism & Developmental Medicine Institute at Geisinger. 

Riggs was selected to receive the award for her platform presentation, “Copy Number Variant Discrepancy Resolution Using the ClinGen Dosage Sensitivity Map Results in Updated Clinical Interpretations in ClinVar.”

Her research interests include variant interpretation education, alternative models of informed consent, and increase in patient participation in genomic data sharing efforts. 

The ACMG Foundation/David L. Rimoin Inspiring Excellence Award 


Winner: Priya Prasad, MD, from the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.


This award was created in memory of the late Dr. David L. Rimoin, one of the founders of ACMG who passed away in 2012. Dr. Prasad was selected to receive this award for her platform presentation, “Outcomes and Opportunities: Population-Based Hereditary Cancer Risk Assesment During Screening Mammography.” She is currently a second-year Medical Genetics Fellow at David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. 

Earlier she completed her Obstetrics and Gynecology residency training from New York, where faced with genetics-related questions from patients suffering from infertility, gynecological cancers, and patients who were expecting, she realised the importance of genetics training for ObGyn Physicians.