Next generation sequencing has triggered a revolution in cancer genomics, and at the forefront of that work is David Smith, Ph.D. David has written extensively for Front Line Genomics magazine on his experiences as an ‘early adopter’ of NGS, and how the dramatic changes in our ability to explore the genome have impacted his own work in the field of cancer research. He will also be taking part in the Festival of Genomics London in January, as part of a workshop on the Clinical Translation of Next Generation Sequencing.

Join us and David Smith on Thursday December 17 2015, 10:00 am CST (11:00 am EST / 08:00 am PST / 04:00 pm GMT) for a brand new webinar on his recent work on cancers associated with human papillomavirus. 

Sign up for the webinar here.

“The use of mate-pair sequencing to characterize cancers with a human papillomavirus etiology”

Source Bio Webinar David Smith

David I Smith, Ph.D, Mayo Clinic

David received his B.S. degree from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in Mathematics and Molecular Biology. He then got his Ph.D. in Biochemistry also from the University of Wisconsin, Madison. After post-doctoral research first at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and then at the University of California, Irvine, he got his first faculty position at Wayne State University in Detroit. In 1996 he joined the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at the Mayo Clinic as Professor and Consultant. His laboratory works on the characterization of the common fragile sites, regions of profound genomic instability found in all individuals. His laboratory also works on the role that human papillomaviruses play in the development of a variety of different cancers. Dr. Smith is also the Chairman of the Technology Assessment Group for the Center for Individualized Medicine at the Mayo Clinic. In this role he has been examining technologies that could have a dramatic impact on both research and its translation to clinical practice. No technology has more potential to change everything than next generation sequencing, thus he has been using this technology to better understand the molecular alterations that occur during the development of cancers with an HPV etiology.

Sign up for the webinar here.

 

This webinar is in collaboration with Source BioScience, an international provider of laboratory products and services.

source bioscience

More on these topics