Non-Alcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH) is the most severe form of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD). The global prevalence of NAFLD is as high as one billion and is the most common cause of chronic liver disease, affecting between 80 and 100 million in the U.S., among whom nearly 25% progress to NASH. NASH is characterized by the presence of an abnormal accumulation of fat in the liver. As NASH evolves, over time it can result in fibrosis in the liver, potentially leading to cirrhosis or cancer. Even 35 years after its formal description, no treatments have been shown to be universally effective, and even those which work partially have serious side effects. A number of treatments have been investigated in the past, including decreasing insulin resistance and modifying patient lifestyles.

This paucity of solid treatments has led to a race between pharma and biotech companies to come up with the ultimate NASH therapy. With old targets falling by the way side, the challenge is to discover new approaches that could lead to a breakthrough in NASH treatment. In our latest webinar, experts from across the pharma field discuss potential new targets and approaches for NASH therapy, and where the field will go in the near future.

When: Thursday, July 11th, 2019
Time: 11am EDT / 4pm BST / 5pm CEST
The webinar will be available on-demand after this date.

Register/Log on

Speakers:

  • Moderator: Donna Cryer, JD, President and CEO, Global Liver Institute
  • Robert Lumsden, PhD, Clinical Programme Manager, Genomics Medicine Ireland
  • Sean Muthian, PhD, BS, MBA, Executive Director, External Science Innovations, Allergan
  • James Trevaskis, PhD, Director, Cell Biology – Fibrosis/NASH Group, Gilead Sciences
  • Jeffrey Gulcher, MD, PhD, Chief Scientific Officer & Co-founder, WuXi NextCODE
  • Matthews O. Bradley, PhD, Chairman, President, & Founder, SAJE Pharma LLC

Register/Log on